08-R-132 RESOLUTION

Sponsored by

THE HONORABLE ELIZABETH "LIZ" DOODY GORMAN, COUNTY COMMISSIONER

Co-Sponsored by

PRESIDENT TODD H. STROGER, WILLIAM BEAVERS, JERRY BUTLER, FORREST CLAYPOOL, EARLEAN COLLINS, JOHN P. DALEY, GREGG GOSLIN, ROBERTO MALDONADO, JOSEPH MARIO MORENO, JOAN PATRICIA MURPHY, ANTHONY J. PERAICA, MIKE QUIGLEY, TIMOTHY O. SCHNEIDER, PETER N. SILVESTRI, DEBORAH SIMS, ROBERT STEELE AND LARRY SUFFREDIN COOK COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

WHEREAS, on November 26, 1842, French priest, Father Edward Sorin and seven companions of the Congregation of The Holy Cross took possession of 524 snow-covered acres that the Bishop of Vincennes had given them in the Indiana mission fields; and

WHEREAS, Father Sorin started an institution of learning and named this school in his native tongue, "L'Université de Notre Dame du Lac" (The University of Our Lady of the Lake); and

WHEREAS, On January 15, 1844, the University of Notre Dame was officially chartered by the Indiana state legislature and subsequently awarded its first academic degree in 1849; and

WHEREAS, the University of Notre Dame today is organized into five colleges as well as offering graduate degrees in fields such as Art, Divinity, Law, Architecture, and Business; and

WHEREAS, among the colleges at the University of Notre Dame is the Mendoza College of Business, established in 1921 by Father John O'Hara, and renamed in March of 2000 through a naming grant gifted by Tom and Kathy Mendoza; and

WHEREAS, Notre Dame opened a Chicago Branch of the Mendoza College of Business in 2002 with its first graduating students receiving their degree in 2004; and

WHEREAS, the Mendoza College of Business offers degrees in Accountancy, Finance, Marketing and Management including the Executive Master of Business Administration degree; and

WHEREAS, in May of 2008, the Mendoza College of Business will have awarded its 1,587th degree from the Executive Master of Business Administration program; and

WHEREAS, the students of the May, 2008 graduating class were under tutelage of instructors:

Chuck Bamford (Strategic Planning)
Viva Bartkus (Problem Solving)
Jeff Bergstrand (Macro-Economics)

Leo Burke (Emerging Trends & Integral Leadership Week)

Margot Cleveland (Employment Law)

Ed Conlon (Leading Change and Innovation)

Shane Corwin (Corporate Investments)

Mike Crant (Leadership & Decision Making)

Jim Davis (EMBA Entrepreneurship)

John Halloran (Corporate Finance)

Dave Hartvigsen (Quantitative Analysis)

Joe Holt (Business Ethics and The Weave II and III)

Roger Huang (Global Finance)

Bob Kearney (Legal Issues)

Jim Krillenberger (Mergers & Acquisitions)

Tim Loughran (Strategic Finance)

James Malachkowski (Intellectual Property)

Patrick Murphy (The Weave I)

Mike Nevens (IT & Strategic Advantage)

Ram Ramanan (Evaluating Financial Performance, Managerial Accounting)

Phil Raskin (Marketing Implementation)

Rich Sheehan (Economics of the Firm)

Ann Tenbrunsel (Negotiation)

Joe Urbany (Marketing I, Marketing II)

Jerry Wei (Operations Strategy & Management); and

WHEREAS, the 2008 class graduating from the Chicago Campus has 63 students in the following work Teams:

Team One - "Intelligents"

Travis Eloe, Ryan Else, Mike Evans, Dambaru Jena, David Lillis and Mario Perez

Team Two - "Outliers"

Kirk Morabito, Nathan Olds, Tony Regier, Charles Rego, and Daniel Smith

Team Three - "Mighty Men of Carp"

Dan Finley, Joseph Kayser, Mark Schwitzenberg and James Weimer

Team Four - "Mystery, Inc. and the A-Team Van"

Gerard Canavan, Karen Kenny, Craig Lambrecht, Scott Santoro and Kathleen McTigue

Team Five – "Lou and the Corinthians"

Louis Hall, Kevin Hanley, Mark Maidlow, Kurt Mueller, and Bradley Ramler

Team Six - "Five for Fighting Irish"

Jeremy Forbes, John Fotos, Michael Irvin, Sharon Parsons and Darren "Dana" Schmidt

Team Seven - "Jagadeesh and the Vigorish"

Kevin Berry, Rudy Gallegos, Elizabeth Gorman, Dionne Linton, Jagadeesh Unnikrishnan and Daniel Walsh

Team Eight – "Crazy Eights"

Ron Costephens, Mark Fitzgerald, Thomas Hoban, Edith Martinez, Regis Massolin and Benjamin Mitchell

Team 9 - "Urban Domers 3.0"

Patrick Graham, Susan Helfrich, Brett Kelley, Theresa Lang, Donald Marquess and Victoria Schreiber

Team 10 - "Scottfree"

Jill Blackburn, John Brohel, Asia Gajderowicz, Christopher Maffioli and Phillip Sichhart

Team 11 - "Faith"

Amy Bellenbaum, Patrick Deacy, Rashod Johnson and Thomas Willis

Team 12 - "Pack Abs"

Andrea Flaherty, Michael Gibbons, Mark Kochert, Daniel O'Neil, Kirk Pigatto and Jeffrey Richert; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Cook County Board are pleased to recognize the University of Notre Dame, Mendoza College of Business and the students and faculty of the 2008 EMBA program.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Commissioners of the County of Cook hereby congratulates the University of Notre Dame and the faculty and the students of the 2008 graduating class of the Chicago Branch of the Mendoza College of Business on being conferred the degree of Master of Business Administration.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the text of this resolution be spread across the journal of this honorable body and that a suitable copy hereof be tendered to each member of the faculty and each student named herein.

Todd H. Stroger, President

Cook County Board of Commissioners

Elizabeth "Liz" Doody Gorman

Commissioner – 17th District

Approved and adopted this 23rd Day of April, 2008